The messianic planets-Uranus and Neptune

As there are higher principles associated with the two “new planets”, Uranus and Neptune are considered to be messianic planets both in astrology and in astrosophy. Their relationship with the intellect, emotions and actions are rather different from the planets introduced earlier, their qualities don’t compare with those of the classical planets (the Sun, the Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn).

Only small percentage of humanity appear to be receptive to the influence of the “transcendental” planets, according to our experience to date. We can say that people of on a higher than average level of sensitivity are the ones who do react. This can be explained by the fact that due to their larger distance from Earth, their effect is less poignant. It is suggested by astrological teachings that their effect could only be felt on humanity as a whole about 50 years after their discovery (Uranus – discovered by Herscher on13th March 1781, Neptune – discovered by Galle on 23rd September 1846) and it was only following this time that their effect could be evaluated in individual horoscopes. 


Due to their slow movement, these planets remain in the same sign for years, so they are more likely to include generational features rather than individual characteristics. The energy of Uranus was identified in 1781 and it has brought revolutionary changes in the life of humanity. Uranus has on orbital period of 84 years and 7 days which means that it stays in each sign for approximately seven years.  

Uranus – Enlightenment

Uranus is the higher octave of Mercury, the representation of transcendental thought and messages and telepathy. It links the Sky with the Earth. Its perspective can be summed up as: Look at the world upside down, the way you have never done before. Take a different view. It’s most fitting aphorism is: A genius doesn’t learn but knows.

It is the symbol of surprising, shocking, astounding situations. This is well-illustrated by the following: While Mercury moves around by car, Uranus takes a plane or a spaceship.


In Greek mythology, Uranus is the deity personifying the sky. He is a representative of the most ancient generation of gods. His wife is Gaia, Mother Earth. He is the father of Kronos (Saturn), the Titans and Cyclops. 

Airy, active, masculine, he has expansive strength 

  • Symbol: a circle with a point on its middle with an upward sign starting from it – the expression of the energy bursting from the Sun
  • Characteristics: wittiness, talent, being extraordinary, uniqueness, a desire for freedom 
  • Features: originality, independence, “freakishness”, ingenuity, the tendency to disregard tradition, sudden changes of state, nervousness
  • Activities: creativity, innovation, introducing reforms, debauchery and perversity 
  • Landscape: lightening, thunder, summer showers, rainstorms, bizarre, mountainous areas 

Questions: What makes you feel excited? What can you change in order to deviate from the norm? 

On a higher level: You consciously look for excitement, step out of your comfort zone. For example, you go paragliding or climb a mountain. Traveling to new places, meeting new people. 

On a lower level: Anxiety, tension, rushing and a debauched lifestyle


Neptune – Relaxation, Unity

Neptune, representing platonic love, is the higher octave of Venus which represents earthly love. It can be likened to the experience of a trance, the state of floating. It is like sitting in a boat on a lake and you are daydreaming in the cradle of the water. In Hinduism, the trident represents God’s three qualities (creative, sustaining and destructive) and refers symbolically to its past, present and future.

The Greeks worshiped Neptune as Poseidon, a major Olympian deity, the king of seas. He was the son of Kronos and Rheia, the brother of Zeus. In Roman provinces he was identified with local gods of waters and seas.

The ideal of Neptune is best expressed by the words of Gyula Juhasz, a Hungarian poet:

First Love by Gyula Juhasz

My whole love was only this:

I saw you and looked into your eyes,

A smile from you was everything, 

But to me it was completely enough. 

And I hold onto this smile

Like the sea holds onto the Sun,

Hidden deep and sad

And – with great, endless love.

Vízi világ/ World of water
  • Symbol: it includes a trident which is a three-pronged spear, the attribute of Poseidon (Neptune).
  • Characteristics: empathy, living through the world of visions, meditation, daydreaming and selflessness 
  • Features: all-encompassing love, natural healing, uncertainty, peculiarity, deviation
  • Activities: a sensitivity to trans-sensory impulses, an expression of creativity through the arts (music, dance, painting), escapism, alcoholism, drug consumption and addiction
  • Landscape: A sky with fluffy clouds and a rainbow. Underwater scenery, islands and fjords.

Questions: How far can you be immersed in something? Do you complete what you have started (e.g. reading a book or doing the housework)? How thorough are you? 

On a higher level: meditation, relaxation, Maori massage

On a lower level: chaos, lying, manipulation and deflection. Watching TV constantly, developing an addiction.

“I am a feather for each wind that blows.” – William Shakespeare


#1 John Rocco
#3 National Geographic